

Information for our member schools

ACCSC Accredited Member Schools and Applicants:

As you may know, an Executive Order was issued on March 20, 2025 directing the Secretary of Education "to the maximum extent appropriate and permitted by law, take all necessary steps to facilitate the closure of the Department of Education." In addition, a reduction in force effective March 11, 2025, has impacted the number staff employed at the U.S. Department of Education ("USDE").

As an ACCSC-accredited school, you may be concerned with how this might affect your school or your accreditor. As an initial matter, because the Congress enacted USDE, Congressional authority is required to eliminate it, which has not happened. Additionally, the Higher Education Act which authorizes federal financial aid remains intact and unaffected by this Executive Order. With regard to ACCSC's gatekeeping function for other federal programs such as SEVIS or Veterans funding, ACCSC is unaware of any impact that the Executive Order would have with regard to establishing eligibility for schools.

As far as we know at this time, the Office of Postsecondary Education Accreditation Group at USDE is intact and has not been impacted by the reduction in force. The Commission is working to keep abreast of any updates or announcements regarding how the Secretary of Education may move forward with the accreditation recognition function. As of now, know that ACCSC will continue to operate business as usual fulfilling its function as an independent accreditor and working to fulfill its mission focusing on institutional and student success.

If you have questions regarding the future of USDE and how recent announcements may impact your school or your students, we encourage you to reach out to your elected officials in an effort to obtain accurate information. If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to reach out to ACCSC staff or to contact ACCSC's Executive Director Michale McComis directly at mccomis@accsc.org.

Best Regards,

DaKenya Douglas

ACCSC Commission Chair

Dakenya Douglas

Michale S. McComis, Ed.D.

chus. Mc

Executive Director